Hair salons

A little update on this post – my favorite hairdresser Sebastian has left Toni&Guy and so I’m no longer going there. I’ve discovered a new favorite place – BLOW Hairdressing – which you can read all about here.

For some of us a good hairdresser and salon is the ultimate search in a city. I’ve tried a few over the years in Brussels, with both good and bad results. Like a lot of women, I’m very protective of my hair and get nervous when anyone comes near me with scissors. So finding someone you can trust and rely on for consistent results is a must. Here are some of my picks for the best hair salons in Brussels.

My longest standing relationship is with Toni & Guy, the UK franchise that has three locations in Brussels (Schuman, Port de Namur, Waterloo). It started back in 2005 when I was fed up trying to explain what I wanted in French and thought an English-speaking hairdresser would solve my problems. My French is pretty good but finding the right way to describe layers and highlights is challenging.

Since then I’ve probably had three good regulars at T&G and a couple of not-so-great “experiments” in between. My go-to-guy now is Sebastian at the Schuman location – he’s a bit of a character (and very chatty!) but friendly and always does a nice job. And most importantly, he listens to what I want. For color I usually try to see Kara (a fellow American and Midwesterner) who always does great work.

Toni & Guy is known for its more experimental style, but can do a classic cut just as well. Prices for a cut depend on the level of stylist. For me, half-head highlights, cut and blow dry come to around €150 (just a cut is around €60). Expensive I know, but hey, you don’t mess with the hair. If you happen to work for one of the EU institutions or other participating companies (see website for list) they offer a 15% discount Mondays to Thursdays and 10% on Fridays & Saturdays.

By the way, the husband also goes to the T&G Schuman salon, so it’s not only for the ladies :)

184 Rue Stevin, 1000 Brussels
Tel: + 32 2 737 52 80
Open: Monday and Wednesday 10am-7pm, Tuesday 10am-6pm, Thursday and Friday 10am-8pm, Saturday 9:15am-6:15pm

Before my T&G obsession, I used to go to Jacques Dessange in the Galerie Louise. I always found them pretty good, but again sometimes difficult with the French limitations. One of my good friends currently goes to their salon on Avenue Louise (close to the corner with Rue Lesbroussart) and swears by it. She sees Christophe for both color (henna) and cut, who she really likes. I love the last cut she got so would agree this is a good recommendation. The salon has a beautiful garden out back where they let her dog play while she’s there – how cute! For henna wash, cut and blow dry the cost is around €160. Dessange has several other locations in Brussels which might also be worth a try.

184 Avenue Louise, 1000 Brussels
Tel: +32 2 640 50 88
Open: Monday to Thursday 9am-6:30pm, Friday 9am-9pm, Saturday 9am-6:30pm

Another good friend who lives near Place Brugmann has found a great little salon, John Fraga, just next to her house. It’s a smaller place than the more commercial two listed above and offers good, friendly service. The cost for color, cut and blow dry is around €80. My friend often goes for blow outs for her curly hair, which last for days and cost around €30.

64 Rue Darwin, 1050 Ixelles
Tel: +32 2 345 35 06

Where do you think is the best place in Brussels to get your hair cut? Leave a comment to this post as I would love to hear from you and help share “insider” info!

Images via Toni&Guy, Google Maps, John Fraga.

Tagged , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “Hair salons

  1. Great post Jane! For the past couple of years I’ve been going to De Kwaf at 41, Rue Sainte Catherine. They are fantastic and speak every language under the sun. They are great with short hair which can be difficult to find sometimes.

  2. peony says:

    I would recommend Red Prestige on rue philippe baucq, Etterbeek for a cut. cut+blow only costs €30 and he has a good eye for correcting other hairdressers’ mistakes. I wouldn’t suggest going for colour though – just cuts – and you’ll need to speak French with him.

  3. Nice that you posted about my hair salon, I will show it to my hairdresser :-)

  4. Catherine says:

    Great post Jane! And I think I recognise Jen&Kali in there…sweet!!!

  5. emmaorussell says:

    I had my first haircut from Sebastian at Toni & Guy just last month, and I think it was one of the best cuts I have ever had – would highly recommend him :)

  6. Raven Teeples Moorehead says:

    Jane, you aren’t the only one who swears by Sebastian! I’ve heard his name from several ladies I know around town. As for me, I have had very good luck with Maite at T&G Schuman. Note – she doesn’t speak English (and how I managed to get the only person in there that doesn’t speak English is beyond me!) but they will translate for you without any problem. Kara did a friends color recently and she was very happy with it as well. And like you, my hubby also goes to T&G – he sees Michael on a regular basis. All in all, we are having pretty good luck at T&G Schuman!

  7. ewa says:

    Philipe Gonay close to Bourse is great. I always go to see Mikael and always leave happy (long and short hair).

  8. Not a John Fraga friend says:

    my advice : DO NOT go to Fraga for a hairCUT, nor for anything else
    I recommended him and he had my friend wait for 30 mins, she left, next time she tried, he did not show up either (car had broken down.;) could go on..

  9. Silke says:

    Great post! My favorite is Jean-Charles in Galerie Louise. Very obliging, lots of great advice. .

  10. Kara says:

    This is Kara, the colorist formerly at Toni and Guy Shuman. I just wanted to let everyone know that I have recently left Toni and Guy. I am now working at BLOW hairdressing by Russell Beard, We are a brand new salon located by the Merode metro station. We have a team of experienced hairdressers and we aim to be THE best in Brussels! If interested in taking an appointment please e-mail me at karag731@aol.com Thanks:)

  11. Rachel says:

    I stumbled upon this blog a few weeks ago while I searching for someone to fix the TERRIBLE cut I got at Toni&Guy. Russell Beard, from Blow, cut my hair today, and he’s amazing! Give him a try, you won’t be disappointed!!

  12. so, what was your haircut like at BLOW? Are they any good?
    I’ve been living here for 11 years and since I have only had bad experiences in salons, since 2008 I have been cutting my own hair with much better results than any Belgian salons.
    I now want to try salons again but I need to go to a really good one as my hair is very difficult.
    Would really appreciate your report on BLOW (or maybe Trendy salon?)

  13. Janske Aarts-Bekker says:

    Ferrullo 243 av. Auderghem in Etterbeek. Small neighborhood salon, I stumbled upon them the day after we arrived from New York City and i felt a blowdry might make my jetlagged self look & feel better. Mariella just opened her salon then (September 2011) and she did a fantastic job cut and blowdry, better than any of the high-end snooty salons in NYC. Does great highlights too. Very well priced. Since then the salon has gained reputation i guess becuase it is always very busy, try to go tue/wed/thu mornings. Unfortunately, they don’t speak english. I try to get by in a mixture of italian and french and it works for me:)

  14. Oden says:

    I went to Dessange Ave. Louise. My usual stylist who really knows her stuff has returned to Paris and I had a new spanish-origin-looking guy named TONY. DO NOT GO TO HIM! He is really pushy and never lets you take your time to creat a hairstyle together. Worse, he tries to take as much money as he could. For example, my old stylist never charged for extra treatment nor gel without asking me if I want them applied first. He just doesn’t ask you anything and simply add as many products as he can to your bill. Also, he doen’t have a good cutting skill either and I was not satisfied at all. Dessange for me is finished. I’ll never go back there. Thier price and performance just does not match. way too expensive for what they can actually provide.

  15. Klarisa says:

    Does anyone know of a good salon in Brussels for hair extensions? I have never tried this out before, but I’ve been seriously thinking about it lately. I have very fine, straight flat hair and I would love to get some voluminous wavy locks, for once!

  16. Diana says:

    Hi, may I ask what kind of hair do you have? I wave wavy hair, which can be very tricky to cut, and i am looking for a hairdresser in Brussels who has some experience with wavy/curly hair.

Leave a Reply

