Blogging in Brussels

As part of my foray into the world of blogging, I’ve been busy looking around for who else is out there writing about all things Brussels. There is a large and diverse Belgian blogging community, cleverly illustrated by Florence from Flexyflow.be in the form of a metro map.

 

But when it comes to English language blogs about Brussels, one has to look a little harder. I’ve managed to find some great sites and last night had the chance to meet a few of my fellow Brussels bloggers. Here’s a look at some of the best Brussels blogs and the authors behind them.

 

CheeseWeb is a great site all about life in Belgium, European travel and advice on expat living. Alison, a Canadian photographer and freelance writer, started the site seven years ago (in the truly early days of blogging). CheeseWeb has all sorts of helpful information, including expat resources, restaurant recommendations and ideas for weekend getaways. Alison takes amazing photographs, which she also sells online and through the Accessible Art Fair. A little birdie tells me she is working on a new design for the blog so check back soon for some changes.

Emily writes The Petit Four, a blog about “poppin’ bottles and other adventures”. She actually started the site back in the US when she had to learn to cook all of her meals in a tiny kitchen and on an even tinier budget. (What a great coincidence that with a blog name in French she ended up living in a Francophone country!) The blog has grown since Emily moved to Belgium and now covers bar and restaurant reviews, as well as recipes. I’m digging Emily’s style and fun pictures, and the occasional story about the US (us Midwestern girls have to stick together :)).

Belgian Trips, written by Michelle, is a good mix of favorite spots in Brussels and ideas on places to visit around Belgium. Recent posts have included Place Flagey, Château de Seneffe, La Maison Autrique and the town of Leuven. Originally started by Michelle’s husband, Belgian Trips is a great source of information to help you discover other parts of the country. Michelle is also a children’s story writer and has a second blog called Good Night Sleep Tight.

Rachel is one of three contributors to Bite Me Brussels, a blog all about food in Brussels and the surrounding area. Each post includes a thorough, and honest, review of a different restaurant, as well as scores on the food, atmosphere, service and price. Originally from London, Rachel has clearly fallen in love with Belgian food and is happy to share her dining experiences, good and bad, for our benefit.

May from New Zealand has only been in Brussels for three months but has already managed to find some fun places around town and take some great pictures along the way, which she shares on Wundiverse. For someone like me who’s been here for almost a decade, it’s refreshing to read about Brussels from a new perspective. May also blogs about her travels in Europe and music (you can see her top song picks on vodpod).

My good friend Jessica chronicles her stories about life in Brussels and her many travels over on Adventures of a Puertorican Girl in Brussels. Her blog includes mix of topics from restaurant reviews to inspirational adventures and everything in between. Jessica is an eternal optimist and her posts can help brighten up even the greyest of Brussels days.

Know of other good blogs on Brussels? Leave a comment!

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “Blogging in Brussels

  1. Jane Capon says:

    There’s mine – though strictly speaking I’m not IN Brussels for another five weeks…

    http://the-western-front.blogspot.com/

    It follows the rather inadvised adventure of a middle-aged woman who is abandoning a perfectly normal life in London for no good reason…

  2. Alison says:

    Thanks for the great write up Jane and it was so fun to meet you all. Some of your blogs I’ve been following for a while now and some are new discoveries for me. I’ll be adding them all to the new CheeseWeb (The transition is in progress right now! Eek!) and I look forward to everyone’s discoveries in Belgium!

  3. Emily says:

    Hi Jane,

    Thanks so much for the shout out! I’m very honored to be included in the same group as all of these talented individuals (and to discover some new ones). And yes, I completely agree – we Midwestern girls do have to stick together!

  4. Janice says:

    I’m excited to read these blogs (I’m already a fan of Alison’s)! I’m new to Brussels and blogging but I started http://www.colorsofbrussels.blogspot.com to search out the colors of this great city and to help fill-up the free time I suddenly have 🙂

  5. Wow! great to have stumbled onto your blog today! I am a Brit living and working in Brussels for 13 years now, married to a Dutchman with Belgian 3rd culture kids!

    I’ve been writing a blog about, well, all sorts, life love and living here (and holidaying in France) for the last 18 months. I’m one month away from achieving my first New Year’s resolution in I don’t know how long, as I subscribed and have maintained the postady2011 challenge, so far!

    My favourites based here are;
    creative bloggers -> http://www.turtlewings.be/?page_id=47 (Julie-Anne of Turtlewings) and http://www.annadenise.nl/ (Anna also runs The Yellow Umbrella)
    sustainability bloggers -> http://tebiki.be/
    and I like http://www.belgianwaffling.com/ for her sartorial look on life.

    It would be great to get in touch with fellow english speaking bloggers based here,and I’m going to take a look at your links above when I have a few spare minutes in my mad mad life. But in the meantime, if you’re planning a meet, with a glass of wine and some nibbles, count me in!

    Liz @lifewithlizzi

  6. Anna says:

    Here’s mine: http://www.annakatina.com
    I’m a lifestyle blogger and photographer based in Brussels. 🙂 Enoy!

Leave a Reply

