Deck the halls

Ah, yes, more Christmas stuff. I’m getting ready to decorate our Christmas tree this weekend so am really getting into the spirit of things. It’s tradition around our house to buy a new ornament every year to add to the collection (this if for both sentimental and practical purposes – I’m bound to break at least one a year). So as I’m heading out to shop, I thought I would share some of my recommendations for places to find Christmas ornaments and decorations in Brussels.

Just be careful this doesn’t happen to you while trimming the tree.

Pépinière de Boitsfort is the newest addition to my address book. This is a great garden shop (1600 m² of greenhouses) and has one of the biggest selections of Christmas decorations I’ve seen in Brussels. Pépinière is also of course a good place to buy a tree. These guys are so serious about Christmas they even made a video!

76 Avenue des Archiducs, 1170 Watermael-Boitsfort
Tel: +32 2 673 7373
Open Monday to Friday, 8am-6pm, Saturday, 8am-5pm

New De Wolf used to be an enormous home décor shop that stretched a whole block between Rue Haute and Rue Blaes, and had the biggest assortment of Christmas ornaments. Although it’s been considerably downsized, the store still covers two floors and has plenty of Christmas decorations for sale. I must warn you that lots of it is rather kitsch, but a good place to go if you can only make one stop.

91 Rue Haute, 1000 Brussels
Tel: +32 2 511 1018
Open Monday to Saturday, 10:30am-6:30pm, Sunday 10am-5pm

Flamant is one of my favorite shops in Brussels. Even though I can’t afford most of what’s for sale, I still love coming here for a stroll around and to find some design inspiration. Fortunately, the Christmas ornaments and gift items are more in my price range. Plus I just saw that they are running a holiday sale – 20% off all small items and selected furniture! (this could prove very dangerous)

36 Grand Sablon, 1000 Brussels
Tel: +32 2 514 4707
Open Monday to Friday, 10:30-6:30pm, Saturday 10:30-7pm, Sunday 10-6pm

Walt Louise is another lovely furniture store on Avenue Louise. They have a few Christmas ornaments around the store and other holiday decorations. Again, a bit on the pricy side, but I found a great ornament here last weekend for €10 to give as a gift.

90 Avenue Louise, 1050 Ixelles
Tel: +32 2 513 0851
Open Monday to Saturday, 10am-6pm

Au Coins du Bois is a sweet little shop I discovered in the Cimetière d’Ixelles area a couple of years ago. It’s one of my go-to places for gifts, and they also have a few Christmas ornaments and decorations during the holidays.

47 Avenue G. Gilbert, 1050 Ixelles
Tel : +32 2 649 6792
Open Monday 2-7pm, Tuesday to Saturday 10am-6:30pm

If you still need to buy a tree (like me!), I posted a few ideas here last week.

Happy decorating!

Images via FM Brussels, Flamant, Walt Louise and Au Coins du Bois.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Deck the halls

  1. Alison says:

    I used to love going to the enormous New de Wolfe and picking out a few new ornaments. I was so sad when they downsized. I also find it much more expensive now. What a pity. I just discovered Flamant last year when a friend of mine was visiting from the UK. She actually orders their products to sell in her shop but had never been to one of their stores. I’ll have to check out the others soon!

  2. One more suggestion – the Woluwe Shopping center has set up a “Christmas Gallery” in the center of the mall and has quite a few ornaments and other decorations to choose from. http://www.thewshopping.be/en/access/

Leave a Reply

