Resolutions

A belated happy New Year everyone! I’m back in Brussels after a great couple of weeks away enjoying time with family in Ireland and sunny Florida, and fun times in NYC with the hubby. I had a wonderful break but am glad to be home and get off to a good start in 2012. Not normally one to make New Year’s resolutions, I’m making an exception this year and hope to stick to the following (all to do with Brussels of course. :))

1. Keep writing – I can’t promise to keep up the pace at which I started writing this blog last year (every day was pretty intense), but I have committed to myself to post at least three times per week on the best of Brussels. Your questions, comments and suggestions are all appreciated, so keep ’em comin’!

2. Explore more – a new year with new things to see and do. I’m going to try to get out and about in Brussels as much as I can this year to keep discovering events, shops, restaurants and more to share via this blog. Here are a few things I’m adding to my calendar already.

Winter Jazz Fesitval – running 17-28 January at Flagey and Marni Theatre, €35 for 3 concerts

Art Truc Troc – an art exhibition with a twist, visitors can trade an object, service, etc (anything but money) with over 200 artists for one of their works, taking place 27 to 29 January at BOZAR

Brusselicious – year-long food festival with all sorts of exhibitions, walks and other foodie events. Things kick off today with a gathering of all the city’s chefs tossing their hats together on the Grand Place.

3. Stop eating frites – I know they’re good, especially in Belgium. I even wrote about some of my favorite places to get frites in Brussels here last year. However, I’m going to try to refrain as much as possible. Fries and other Belgian culinary delights have taken their toll (damn you delicious pain au chocolate) and I need to change my ways. This may seem a bit contradictory to partaking in Brusselicious, but I will try my best.

Good luck to any of you out there with New Year’s resolutions! I know I’ll need some, especially with number three 😉

Images via Pinterest and Winter Jazz.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Welcome back! Looking forward to explore Brussels with you 🙂

  2. Alison says:

    Welcome back! Don’t give up on frites altogether… that would just make life sad 🙂

Leave a Reply

