Isabelle de Borchgrave

My mom all the way back in the US actually gave me the idea for today’s post on best of Brussels. She sent me an email recently asking if I knew of Isabelle de Borchgrave, “the lady who makes dresses out of paper”. I’ve read about her work here and there but never knew the extent of her creations.

I have a strange love of all things paper (see previous post). For example, I learned how to make origami figures when I was 8 and still remember how today (probably one of the few things I retained from the second grade). So I was curious to find out more about Isabelle’s work.

Born in Brussels, Isabelle started out designing fabrics and clothes and developed the idea of making paper reproductions of famous costumes.  She has now been creating paper gowns and other clothing for almost 20 years, covering 300 years of fashion history from Elizabeth I to Coco Chanel.

Isabelle is multi-talented – she also paints and sculpts and has turned some of her concepts into home décor items like table linens. She’s even made chairs and shoes out of paper! Isabelle also has published a number of books.

She had her first significant exhibition in the US last year, which garnered her attention in the New York Times among others. Her next show is here in Brussels, to be held in Isabelle’s studio gallery, starting on 30 March. I can’t wait for a chance to check out her design laboratory and see some of her new paintings and paper creations.    

Atelier Isabelle de Borchgrave
73A Chaussée de Vleurgat, 1050 Ixelles
Open: Tuesday to Sunday, 10am-6pm

Images via Isabelle de Borchgrave, New York Times and Legion of Honor.

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Isabelle de Borchgrave

  1. Suzanne Chernik says:

    Hi Jane:

    Glad you discovered Isabelle. I saw her show in SF and bought the catalog. It knocked my socks off. Her work is stunning! I am envious that you are going to be able to see her show in Brussels. You will love it!

  2. I have been a big fan of Isabelle’s stunning creations.
    I look forward to the day I see them in person!

  3. Elisabeth says:

    Thanks for the advice ! I saw her exhibition and her amazing place yesterday, and it was a pure delight !

  4. Excellent find Jane!! And darn it, just saw that you’ve already visited the expo! Am thinking we should consider another blogger outing soon.

Leave a Reply

