Favorite posts

How time flies, especially when you’re having fun. Today marks six months since I started blogging about Brussels, so I wanted to do a little roundup of some of the top posts to celebrate. I’ve really enjoyed writing about my favorites and finding new places around the city – there really is so much if you just do a bit of exploring. The blog has also given me the chance to do things I wouldn’t have done otherwise, like attend the Smets Premium store opening party and share my tips with Agenda Magazine. I’ve also been lucky to meet some great new people through blogging, including fellow Brussels bloggers, other American expats and some new friends.

I’m blown away by how many people have visited the blog, so a huge thanks to all of you who have taken the time to read, leave comments and get in touch. I love sharing my favorite spots and tips on Brussels, but keep sending me your questions and recommendations for what you want to hear about!

Your favorite (most views) – The Ultimate Burger Guide

During the cold, dark days of January I had a craving for a hamburger. Not the assembly line, McDonald’s style, but a real, juicy, stacked-to-the-sky burger. Restaurants dedicated to making good burgers have popped up all over Brussels and many have shared their views on where to find the best one. I haven’t managed to try all the options yet (thank god for my waist line), but put together this top list based on my experiences and other blogger reviews. This post also generated the most comments and discussion – it seems burgers are a contentious subject! The burger battle continues, with a close tie between Ellis Gourmet Burger and Cool Bun for the number one spot.

My favorite – Dinner and a movie

  

For one of my first Foodie Friday posts I wrote about where to eat if you’re going to the movies in Brussels. Always a tricking one (do we eat before? after? just have a meal of popcorn and coke?), I found myself looking for good restaurant choices near cinemas. My top combination has to be Toison d’Or and Ars Vinorum afterwards for a delicious Italian meal. What would be yours? 

The husband’s favorite – Dreaming of a White Russian

And of course I couldn’t forget the husband. He has been a great sounding board for ideas and sometimes a helpful proofreader late at night, so I had to ask him which post was his favorite. His pick – having a cocktail at l’Archiduc. This is one of the best (and oldest) bars in Brussels and one of the few places to find a good cocktail, like a White or Black Russian. The husband loves a well-made drink and was glad to learn something new about Brussels – the Black Russian was actually invented here!

Here’s to the next six months and much more!

Images via Ellis Gourmet Burger, Atrium, Ars Vinorum and The Guardian.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Favorite posts

  1. Alison says:

    Congrats Jane! We love your blog and it’s a great addition to the Bxl Blog scene. We hope you’re blogging for a long time to come!

Leave a Reply

