Maisons du Monde

Brussels is a bit of a tricky city for finding moderately priced furnishings. There are several very nice design and furniture shops, but most are out of my price range, except for the occasional candle or pillow. I love to visit stores like Philippe Lescrenier, Flamant, and SMETS for inspiration but then often end up buying at Ikea.

Like probably many of you out there, I’d like to graduate from the Swedish megastore. Don’t get me wrong, I love Ikea. I can spend hours roaming the store. My browsing skills have advanced beyond the pre-determined path – I actually know all of the shortcuts to the various sections (sad I know). Ikea is great for lots (who hasn’t had a Lack side table at some point?), but any home needs to have some variety.

Maisons du Monde strikes a good compromise – big selection, reasonable prices, and you don’t have to put everything together yourself. A French company started 20 years ago, Maisons du Monde has spread to 11 countries in Europe, including Belgium. The Brussels store is located downtown on Rue Anspach in the renovated shopping center next to De Brouckere metro stop, and has two large floors of furniture, tableware and decorative items. You can also shop the full collection online, with the option to return items within 7 days if you change your mind.

Looking at the latest catalogue, I liked several items from the industrial-style line, especially the Multipls chair and Archibald console table.

I love the green velvet tufted slipper chair for €200 (also available is other bright colors like pink, purple and turquoise)!

They also have a nice four poster bed for €300 that would work well in a typical Brussels apartment with high ceilings.

Maisons du Monde has a good selection of mirrors, table linens and dishes, as well as some great looking lamps (over 300!) in the €100-200 price range.

They even have fireplace surrounds which would be a great way to add a focal point to a room (besides the TV!) if you have four plain walls. Not everything in the store is my taste. The whole ‘art’ section is worth skipping in my opinion. The sofa selection is a little uninspired, but there are a few good, basic options. I do like the tufted banquette for a small space or bedroom (yes I have a slight tufting obsession). 🙂

There’s a decent range of various styles, from modern to more classical shapes, so even if my picks aren’t for you, I think the store is still worth a look!

Rue couverte Anspach Boulevard, 1000 Brussels
Tel: +32 2 217 66 41
Open: Monday to Saturday, 10am-7pm (until 8pm on Thursday)

P.S. I’ve found a couple of other good, affordable furniture stores around Brussels like Vastiau Godeau and Heylen, where you can find a bargain from time to time. My friend and fellow blogger Jessica has also written about some of her favorites here.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

