SantaCon

Is it too early to start talking about Christmas? I know Brussels doesn’t begin the whole holiday craze as early as some places. Seeing the pictures from London on my friend Jess’s blog you would think it is already December 24th. Although Belgium has good Christmas restraint, I’m taking the leap today to kick off the holiday season. I always liked the rule in the US to wait until after Thanksgiving to do anything Christmasy, so I guess I’m only a few hours ahead of schedule.

Unlike last year when I posted about some of the best places to buy a Christmas tree, find decorations and ornaments and go shopping for gifts in Brussels, this year I have something a little different to help celebrate the holiday. First a tune from old blue eyes to get you in the mood…

Now I know Belgians are into St Nicholas/Sinterklaas but for me Santa Claus (the big, fat red version invented by Coca-Cola) is the real bearer of gifts for the holidays. So what better way to get into the spirit of Christmas than to dress up like Santa and drink the night away?!

Enter SantaCon – an annual mass gathering of people dressed in Santa Claus costumes parading in the streets and bars in cities around the world. It’s basically a bar-crawl spreading Christmas cheer. I think singing of Christmas songs is also involved. Sounds pretty good to me!

The first SantaCon took place in San Francisco in 1994 and it has now spread to 259 locations in 36 countries, including Brussels. This will mark the third year of SantaCon Brussels, which will take place on Friday 7 December. The starting point is Scott’s Bar at 6pm, followed by a wander around the downtown area (see the full schedule). I’m giving you ample notice of this unusual event, as you’re required to have a costume. Be sure to read the dress code details and check here for suggestions on where to buy a Santa suit.

There is no registration required, but it’s a good idea to like the SantaCon Brussels Facebook page for updates and RSVP on the Facebook event page. You can also see evidence (photos) of various forms of debauchery by drunken Santas from previous years. If you join in, just be sure to follow the rules. 🙂

Let the Christmas season begin!

Images via SantaCon Brussels and Peas and Needes blog.

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “SantaCon

  1. I’m so bummed I’ll be in Cambodia when this happens! I would love to watch–if not actually participate (red is not really my color).

  2. Jilkesh says:

    Thank you for your support Jane, we really appreciate it! Hope you’ll join us?

  3. Megan says:

    Santa is coming to town again in 2013! SantaCon Brussels will be Saturday 7 December at 4pm! More details are on facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/events/518707088203502/

Leave a Reply

