2013 Resolutions

Well hello there! And happy (belated) New Year all. After a month off from blogging I’m slowly making my way out of my holiday coma (i.e. hiatus from all things digital) and getting back to life, including a new job I’m starting today (!). So to kick off this year on the right foot, I thought about making a few resolutions. Last year I made three on this blog, so let’s take a quick review of how I did before making any new ones.

  • Keep writing – Check! Whoo, glad I did at least one of these.
  • Explore more – Sort of. More to come on this in a minute.
  • Stop eating frites – Complete fail, but hey if you live in Brussels, is this really even an option?

For 2013 I’m going to take a slightly different approach. Instead of resolutions in the traditional sense, I’ve decided to make a list of new things to try in Brussels. Even after more than 10 years of living in this fine city, there are still a few things that I’ve never managed to do. So here we go.

#1 Get up early enough on a Saturday morning (or stay up late enough the night before) to go to the Mabru market in Laeken. I love all the different neighborhood markets in Brussels, but this is the ultimate one. Something like 40,000 square meters of space, with 150 vendors selling produce, flowers, meat, fish, cheese, etc. I have to admit that I’ve actually listed this as something to try a while back and never got around to it. 2013 will be the year.

Mabru market

#2 Track down the Keep on Toasting food truck and have a gourmet croquet monsieur. It’s completely shameful that I haven’t done this yet so will get on it right away. Hey, I don’t need to tell myself twice to eat something yummy! Ok that’s kind of an easy one. 🙂

#3 Go up to the top of the Porte de Hal tower for a different view of Brussels.

Porte de Halle

#4 Bid on something at Art Truc Troc. I’ve been to this very rather unique art show before but never had the courage to actually place a bid on an item. This year’s exhibition will be 1-3 February at BOZAR.

#5 Go for a run in Bois de la Cambre. Ok this may seem kind of lame. I’m not completely adverse to jogging, I’ve made laps around Cinquantenaire, Etangs d’Ixelles and Parc de Bruxelles, but have never made it for a loop around the Bois. More inspiration on running routes in Brussels see here, here and here.

#6 Take visiting friends on a bike tour of Brussels.

Bike Tour

#7 Go to a jazz concert with the husband. I’ve had the chance to hear some really good jazz in Brussels, both at the Music Village and various concerts at Flagey, but sadly the husband has never been able to join. This sounds like a perfect date night for 2013. Some of my picks on where to go.

Ok that’s a bit of a long list, but hopefully I can pull it off and that it’s also given you a few ideas on some things to try.

What else would be on your to do list for Brussels in 2013? Share your suggestions!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “2013 Resolutions

  1. Happy New YEAR! Good luck with the new job…

    I am with you on #1 and #2… and as much as I want to say #5…. I think I would be putting myself up for failure 😉

    • Welcome back Jane! 1-3 are on my list as well! I’m glad I’m not the only one who STILL hasn’t done these things. I’ve also made a spreadsheet (I know. I’m a geek) of restaurants I want to try, so I can refer back to it when Andrew and I are having the ‘Where do you want to go? I don’t know. Where do YOU want to go?” conversation 🙂 Goo luck with your list and all the best for 2013!

  2. Great list! I need to check out Bois de Cambre and Mabru Market one of these days.
    My plans for 2013 involve that along with a few good hours at the Marché-aux-Puces in the Marolles (before a Saturday/Sunday brunch) and eating my way around the city…my restaurant list is stupidly long.

    Do visit Porte de Hal one day as the view is fantastic! Perhaps on an early Spring day though. Oh, also make sure to not get locked out on the top: http://fortheintolerants.com/2013/01/04/road-less-travelled-porte-de-hal-hallepoort/. *groans*

  3. Filippo says:

    Just a question: are you sure that the Marché Matinal is open to everybody? It says on the website that professionals, hence supermarkets, suppliers, show owners, caterers and so on, have access to the market.

    It would be good to know if it’s also open to the public…I live quite close to that and it would be good one day to go and buy stuff

    • Yes the general public can go on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday between 6 and 7:30am. I’ve heard that there are some vendors that won’t sell to you unless you have a VAT number, but otherwise everyone can enter.

  4. M says:

    Thanks, interesting article! So Mabru market is open to general public on Saturdays from 6am to 7.30am? Thats a bit too early and does not give much time to shop…

    • Yes I called Mabru to double check the times. It is a bit limited, but the market is mostly for professional vendors so they only let the public in for a short time. Hence the resolution to get up early to go!

Leave a Reply

