American style in Brussels

Confession: I’m obsessed with home decor magazines. They are truly my guilty pleasure. I have stacks of them around the house and buy one every time I’m in a newsagent. There’s something about slowing scanning the photo spreads of incredible homes that fills me with inspiration and simply makes me happy. I can’t get enough of them. So when I travel for work, which has been often lately, I always buy a couple to read during the journey.

While running to catch the Eurostar back from London last week I picked up a copy of the US edition of Elle Decor (one of my favs). I was quietly flipping through the magazine on the train and nearly shouted out with delight when I came across a feature on an apartment in Brussels!

Elle Decor - An Eclectic Home in Brussels

The home of Melañio Gomez and Chris Kangas, an American couple who moved here from New York seven years ago, is a beautiful and unique space in an Art Deco building in Ixelles. (Maybe we’re neighbors??) I love the subtle mix of high and low end furnishings, which somehow is a perfect combination of American and Belgian sensibilities.

Elle Decor - An Eclectic Home in Brussels

The apartment features some great designer pieces like the vintage Knoll leather sofa and Eames dining room chairs, but I’m most impressed with all of their flea market finds. Can we please be friends and go shopping together?!

Elle Decor - An Eclectic Home in Brussels

How cool is that metal bench that they found in a dumpster and topped with a mohair cushion?! And I love the DIY creations in the office. The desk is an Ikea tabletop with legs from a brocant. Right up my alley! (Flea market trolling and IKEA hacking are my two favorite past times :))

Elle Decor - An Eclectic Home in Brussels

I’m also digging the blue walls in the guest room, a lovely blend of moody and cozy, perfect for Brussels.

Elle Decor - An Eclectic Home in Brussels

Melañio and Chris, like many of us, have ended up staying in Brussels much longer than planned and say “we’re still not ready to leave”. This city just sort of grows on you, and with an amazing apartment like that, why would anyone ever want to move?

All photos by Richard Powers for Elle Decor.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “American style in Brussels

  1. beautiful! and some great inspiration 🙂

  2. Pam says:

    Happy to see you back in the blogging saddle!

  3. H&H says:

    Wow, that living room looks amazing, especially the brown leather couch and big windows!

Leave a Reply

